zpizza: Pizza & Nuggets & Beer, “Oh My!”

Where: zpizza, Raleigh, NC. zpizza has multiple locations. Visit their website to find a location near you.

GF Menu: They explain their Gluten-Free options in the FAQ on their website. And they have GF Pizza Crust and Beer! They also carry rice-flour-battered Chicken Nuggets. I know. I said, “No way!”, when I first heard it, too. Kids and adults love them. You can even buy a bag of frozen nuggets to take home to cook later. The same goes for the pizza crusts.

The menu on their website offers this disclaimer: “Available in Regular or Wheat Crust or Gluten-Free Crust. zpizza is not a Gluten-Free Environment.”

I spoke to the caring and savvy manger of the Falls of the Neuse location, Jolene Ventimiglia, and she explained that in order to avoid possible cross-contamination the GF crusts are prepared and baked in a different area of the kitchen.

What we ate: I sampled two GF pizzas – pepperoni, and a cheese with mushrooms and sausage. My friend, and local artist of “The Enchanted Forrest”, Sue Ivy, opted for a GF pizza with chicken curry and yams.

How to order it: When ordering, specify that you want a GF crust, which has an additional cost.

What it looks like:

Classic MSG-Free Pepperoni and Classic Cheese with Mushrooms and Additive-Free Sausage Gluten-Free Pizzas.That’s Amore!

But don’t just take my word for it: My friend, Sue, says, “The first time I visited zpizza, I was in gluten-free heaven! Finally, a place I could enjoy two of my favorite things: pizza and beer! The friendly staff made me feel right at home and it’s quickly become one of my favorite places to eat. Everything I’ve tried has been fresh and delicious and gluten free!”.

Green Note: zpizza’s website has a tab labeled, “The Environment”, which elaborates on their eco-mission.

Published in: on February 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sweetteawheatfree.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/zpizza-pizza-nuggets-beer-oh-my/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] potential cross-contamination. Still craving a pizza? Try Gluten-Free pies at Lilly’s Pizza, zpizza, or Mellow Mushroom in […]


Leave a Reply

